IPCC Elects Hoesung Lee Of Republic Of Korea As Chair


The Intergovernmental  Panel  on  Climate  Change  (IPCC) elected Hoesung Lee of the Republic of Korea as its new Chair on Tuesday.

Hoesung Lee was elected by 78 votes to 56 in a run – off with Jean – Pascal van Ypersele.

A total of six candidates had been nominated for the position.

“I am honoured and grateful that the Panel has elected me as the IPCC’s new Chair,” said Hoesung Lee “The IPCC remains deeply committed to providing policymakers with the highest quality scientific assessment of climate change, but we can do more.”

“The next phase of our work will see us increase our understanding of regional impacts, especially in developing countries, and improve the way we communicate our findings to the public.

Above all, we  need  to  provide  more  information about  the  options  that  exist  for  preventing  and  adapting to climate  change.

I  look  forward  to  working  with  my  IPCC  colleagues  to  reach  these  goals  and  I thank them for their support.”

The election took place in Dubrovnik, Croatia, where the IPCC is holding its 42nd Session.

Elections for other positions on the IPCC Bureau, including the Co-Chairs of the IPCC Working Groups, will take place over 6 – 8 October.