Seven Countries Sign Forest Protection Pact


Seven South American countries have agreed measures to protect the Amazon river basin, amid global concern over massive fires in the world’s largest tropical forest. Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Ecuador, Guyana, Peru and Suriname signed a pact, setting up a disaster response network and satellite monitoring. At a summit in Colombia, they also agreed to work on reforestation. More than 80,000 fires have broken out in the Amazon rain forest this year. 

“This meeting will live on as a co-ordination mechanism for the presidents that share this treasure – the Amazon,” said Colombian Presiden Iván Duque, who hosted the summit in the city of Leticia. Meanwhile, Peruvian President Martín Vizcarra said: “Goodwill alone is not enough anymore.” The seven nations also agreed to put more efforts into education and increase the role of indigenous communities. The countries were represented in Leticia by presidents, vice-presidents and ministers.

Source: BBC