Peruvian Ocean Conservationist Wins Top Honours In Prestigious International Award


Jackson Hole, USA: Kerstin Forsberg, a 28-year-old marine conservation biologist and campaigner based in Peru, has been awarded the WWF International President’s Award 2013 at a special ceremony during global conservation organization WWF’s Annual Conference.

As Founder-Director of the non-profit organization “Planeta Océano” since 2007, Kerstin leads community-based marine research, environmental education and participatory sustainable development initiatives in Peru. Prior to this she has been a prolific volunteer with many ocean conservation and green educational groups across the country.

“I am delighted to present this year’s WWF International President’s Award to Kerstin Forsberg, and I commend her warmly for her energy and dedication to saving our seas and rallying others to the cause. She is an inspiration to us all,” said Yolanda Kakabadse, WWF International President.

“This Award shines a light on brilliant young people who are working hard to protect the natural world. We desperately need young leaders and pioneers joining the nature conservation movement and sharing their passion and skills – and Kerstin is an excellent example,” said Kakabadse.

The annual WWF International President’s Award acknowledges and encourages outstanding achievements of young people under the age of 30 who are making strong and compelling contributions to nature conservation. Nominations are invited via WWF offices around the world.

Other awards presented during this year’s WWF Annual Conference include the WWF Award for Conservation Merit, going to Dr Sergi Tudela, Head of Fisheries at WWF Mediterranean, and Catalan fisheries management group the “Co-management Committee for the Management Plan of the Artisanal Sandeel Seine in Catalonia”. Roger Sant of the US was made a WWF Member of Honour, and the posthumous WWF International Roll of Honour this year commemorates Russell E. Train, a leading conservation pioneer and founder of WWF-US. Dr Trudy Ecoffey and Dr Thomas Lovejoy received the WWF Leader of a Living Planet awards, and the WWF Staff Award for Outstanding Achievement goes to Ginette Hemley, Senior Vice President for Conservation Strategy and Science at WWF-US. The WWF Gold Panda Awards, recognising significant generosity in supporting WWF, have been awarded to Edward P. Bass, John & Virginia Sall and SAS Institute, Inc., Adrienne & John Mars and Mars Incorporated, and Muhtar A. Kent and The Coca-Cola Company.