Widespread Heavy Rains Across The Country Today

Shakila Ifham

November 2, 2023


Showers or thundershowers will occur at several places in  most provinces today, the Disaster Management Centre (DMC) said, adding that heavy showers of about 100mm are likely at some places in Western, Sabaragamuwa, Central and Uva provinces and in Galle and Matara districts.

Showers will occur in coastal areas of the Eastern province and in Hambanthota district during the morning too. Misty conditions can also be expected at some places in Western, Sabaragamuwa, Central, North central and Uva provinces during the morning.

The public is requested to take adequate precautions to minimize damages caused by temporary localized strong winds and lightning during thundershowers.

DMC also said that due to continued heavy rains countrywide, the National Building Research Organization has issued a landslide risk warning notice to 62 Divisional Secretariat Divisions in 11 districts.

Accordingly, Haputale and Haldummulla in the Badulla District, Sitawaka in the Colombo District, Niagama Baddegama, Elpitiya, Galle Fort, Akmeemana, Ambalangoda, Bope, Poddala, Neluwa, Imaduwa, Thavalama, Nagoda and Yakkalamulla in the Galle District, Walasmulla, Beliatte, Okwela, and Katuwana in the Hambantota District, Valallavita and Ingiriya in the Kalutara District, Yatinuvara and Udunuwara in the Kandy District, Ruwanwella, Bulathkohupitiya, Galigamuwa, Dehiowita, and Kegalle in the Kegalle District, Mawathagama, Ridhigama and Polgahawela in the Kurunegala District, Pasagoda, Matara Kadawat Satara, Tihagoda, Welipitiya, Akurassa, Kamburupitiya, Pitah in the Matara District. Athuraliya, Mulatiyana, Kotapale, Malimbada, Kirinda Puhulwella, and Hakmana, Divisional Secretariat Divisions of Kiriella, Kahawatta, Nivithigala, Ayagama and Pelmadulla in Ratnapura District have been issued with the first level warning notice.

A second level warning notice has been issued to Tumpane Divisional Secretariat Division in the Kandy District, Laggala Pallegama Divisional Secretariat Division in Matale District, Ratnapura, Kolonna, Godakawela, Weligepola, Kuruvita, Kalawana, Imbulpe, Balangoda, Alapatha, Okwela and Aheliyagoda Divisional Secretariat Divisions in the Ratnapura District.

Meanwhile, traffic on the Hatton – Balangoda main road has been disrupted after a mound of rocks fell onto the road in the Marathenna area.

The rock fall is believed to have occurred in the early hours of yesterday (01 Nov.), as a result of the heavy downpour in the area.
Subsequently, traffic on the Hatton – Balangoda main road was restricted to one lane.

The Nuwara-Eliya District Disaster Management Unit has also urged the public to remain vigilant when travelling on the Hatton – Balangoda main road, particularly near the Dethanagala Reserve, adding that it is prone to landslides and treefalls.